The new Essex County Council representatives for Chelmsford are Mike Steel, John Spence, Marie Goldman, Stephen Robinson, Jude Deakin, Anthony McQuiggan, Bob Massey, Mike Mackrory and Ian Grundy.

This year saw four sets of elections in Chelmsford. On Thursday 6 May, voters across Essex chose their representatives on Essex County Council as well as their Police, Fire & Crime Commissioner. In Moulsham Lodge, a City Council seat was also vacant and voters in that neighbourhood chose their new local councillor – and some parishes had vacancies to fill too.

Because social distancing means less people counting at once, there are two different counts this year. The Essex County Council ballots were counted on the Thursday night and results were announced from 10pm through to 6am the next morning. A long night for the electino count staff!

The parish and PFCC city council votes will be counted on Saturday morning and announced that day. Follow them live on Facebook and Twitter.

Results by area of Chelmsford

Broomfield and Writtle

The results are:

Lucy Jane Barrett, Labour Party: 653 votes
Nick Caddick, Green Party: 560 votes
Nikki Perry, Liberal Democrat: 670 votes
Mike Steel, The Conservative Party: 3287 votes

Turnout: 32.11%

Winner: Mike Steel, The Conservative Party


The results are:

Ben Harvey, Green Party: 376 votes
David Howell, Labour Party: 443 votes
Rose Moore, Liberal Democrat: 1357 votes
John Andrew Spence, Conservative Party: 3186 votes

Turnout: 33.04%

Winner: John Andrew Spence, Conservative Party

Chelmsford Central

The results are:

Marie Clare Goldman, Liberal Democrat: 2195 votes
Edward Massey, Labour Party: 511 votes
Seena Shah, The Conservative Party: 1992 votes
Claire Angela Young, Green Party: 389 votes

Turnout: 37.31%

Winner: Marie Clare Goldman, Liberal Democrat

Chelmsford North

The results are:

Jessica Peacock, Labour Party: 454 votes
Stephen John Robinson, Liberal Democrat: 2085 votes
Mark Taylor, The Conservative Party: 1621 votes
Angela Joan Thomson, Green Party: 282 votes

Turnout: 33.32%

Winner: Stephen John Robinson, Liberal Democrat

Chelmsford West

The results are:

Ronnie Bartlett, Green Party: 380 votes
Jude Deakin, Liberal Democrat: 2012 votes
Pete Dixon, Labour Party: 611 votes
Ben McNally, Conservative Party: 1688 votes

Turnout: 30.73%

Winner: Jude Deakin, Liberal Democrat

Great Baddow

The results are:
Alex Heard, Green Party: 324 votes
Richard Joseph John Hyland, Independent Network: 1133 votes
Anthony John McQuiggan, The Conservative Party: 2065 votes
Janbee Shaik Mopidevi, Labour Party: 373 votes
Jesse Clifford Pryke, UK Independence Party (UKIP): 113 votes
Smita Rajesh, Liberal Democrat: 1433 votes

Turnout: 35.52%

Winner: Anthony John McQuiggan, The Conservative Party

South Woodham Ferrers

The results are:

Ian Anthony Donald Gale, Liberal Democrat: 132 votes
Emmanuel Arnold Kemball, Labour Party: 241 votes
Bob Massey, The Conservative Party: 1936 votes
David Rey, Green Party: 186 votes
Jill Winn, South Woodham Ferrers Council Taxpayers Association: 979 votes

Turnout: 28.58%

Winner: Bob Massey, The Conservative Party


The results are:

Leah Marie Butler-Smith, The Democratic Network: 83 votes
Russell Kennedy, Labour and Co-operative Party: 524 votes
James Robert Lumbard, Green Party: 340 votes
Mike Mackrory, Liberal Democrat: 2630 votes
James Alexander John Tyrrell, The Conservative Party: 2141 votes

Turnout: 35.38%

Winner: Mike Mackrory, Liberal Democrat


The results are:

Paul Hayden Clark, Independent Network: 387 votes
Ian Spencer Grundy, The Conservative Party: 3468 votes
Jake Havard, Labour Party: 497 votes
Brian Littlechild, Green Party: 304 votes
Tom Willis, Liberal Democrat: 337 votes

Turnout: 34.11%

Winner: Ian Spencer Grundy, The Conservative Party

By Charlotte Maltby

Charlotte writes stories about recycling and waste, parks, economic development, local democracy and planning.

Leave a Comment